“Welcome! Everything is fine!” – The Good Place – Season 1 – Opinions & Comments

Have you ever asked yourself “Am I a good person? What does it mean to be a good person?”?

I’ve never enjoyed philosophy in school. I’ve always felt it was too abstract for me. But if I had “The Good Place” during my high school years I would have definitely learnt more.

“Newly-deceased Eleanor Shellstrop is sent to the Good Place but only by mistake; Eleanor is determined to become a better person in her afterlife with help from friends Chidi, Tahani, Jianyu and Janet.

IMDB

When talking about the show, creator and overal comedy genius Mike Schur said he wanted it to talk about these grant and philosophical questions and not make the audience feel like they’re being lectured.

And he did it.

The show never lectures you on how to properly behave or which philosophical school of thought you should follow. It gives you different options and you get to choose what to adopt in your own life.

AND THEN THEY FOOLED EVERY SINGLE ONE OF US.

Despite plot twist after plot twist, when I got to the end of the season, I did not expect to be as shocked as I was.

It blew my mind.

I am in love with this show. I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again: Mike Schur is a TV Comedy God. And I love him.

There are so many jokes, every single line is aboslutely hilarious, it’s, as The Good Place The Podcast host and actor Marc Evan Jackson calls it:

The smartest dumbest show on television

Marc Evan Jackson

Every single character is thought-out, there is character development, they have flaws and the make mistakes but you can’t help but fall in love with them.

Yes, even the demons.

It’s curated to the smallest detail possible, every single production department did such an amazing job. And the performances!!!

Kristen Bell, Ted Danson, William Jackson Harper, Jameela Jamil, D’arcy Carden and Mandy Jacinto are an awesome ensable and they have incredible chemistry. They react off each other: watch them when they are in the background of a scene. You’ll see another whole thing going on.

“The Good Place” is a television show that makes you think about how you live your life, you interact with people and how our actions have an impact on others.

In just 21 minute and 30 seconds, it manages to entertain us, do stupid fart jokes and at the same time, it makes you completely reconsider your life.

And they have somehow managed to sneak in swear words disguising them as “fork”, “bench”, “ash” and “shirt”. And I LOVE IT.

It’s so forkin funny, totally childish and unbelievably hysterical.

There are so many cameos of actors from other programs in the Schurverse: Jason Mantzoukas (Parks and Rec, Brooklyn99), Alison Becker (Parks and Rec), Marc Evan Jackson (Parks and Rec, Brooklyn99) and more! And producers like Morgan Sackett and David Miner are behind the scenes, with writers like Dylan Morgan and Josh Segal, Joe Mande, Jen Statsky, Megan Amram and more.

Just like with every show in the Schurverse, it doesn’t matter how many times I watch an episode, I’ll always discover something new I hadn’t seen before.

Do yourself a favor and watch it again, you fat dink.

xxx

Georgia

| Twitter | Tumblr | Email |

20 thoughts on ““Welcome! Everything is fine!” – The Good Place – Season 1 – Opinions & Comments

  1. Honestly, I don’t know if this show is making me rethink my goodness. I know I’m not a bad person, but I think the show is just so farfetched to compare it to myself. And even Chidi, who is at his core a good, honest person ended up in the Bad Place by overthinking and annoying people. I think humans are a bit more in the gray area and we need to learn and grow the way Eleanor has.

    Like

  2. This show has been on my to be watched list for a while now. I need to bite the bullet and just start it. I know once I do I’ll be binge watching the whole show!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. First of all, thanks for the follow and for commenting! Can’t wait to talk about tv with more people!
      You should definitely start The Good Place! It’s so good and full of plot twists! And Kristen Bell is a gem!

      Like

      1. I seriously love her. Have you seen her show Veronica Mars?
        Side note, talking about tv shows is probably one of my favorite things to talk about

        Liked by 1 person

      2. She is amazing! I haven’t seen her yet! But I recently posted 4 articles about the shows I’m planning on binge-ing this summer and Veronica Mars is one of them!
        Talking about tv it literally the best thing in the world and no one can tell me otherwise!

        Like

Leave a comment