January Favourites 2021

It’s March and I’m writing about all the things I’ve done and loved in January. This gives you an insight into how my year is going. Still, I went back and looked at my Google Calendar to jog my mind on all the things I’ve enjoyed in this first month of the year.

2021 didn’t start off in the best way but towards the end, it ended up being pretty awesome! I passed my second to last exam, I started working more hours (so more money for meeeee!!!) and I finished 2 books!

So, without much further ado here is what I’ve been loving in January 2021:

YOUTUBE

A Clockwork Reader

I’ve been following Hannah for a couple of years now… maybe even more and I love her channel. Although I’m definitely not a fan of fantasy, I LOVE the vibe of her videos.

She’s very open about her mental health, her reading habits. and her videos are chill. They make me feel so calm and happy. Watching Hannah talk about books always pushes me to pick one up myself.

Definitely check her out!


BOOKS

43189874. sy475

Well Met by Jen DeLuca

I read the review I left on Goodreads and WOW I couldn’t have been more plain and uninspired. I gave this book 3.5 stars and, according to January 2021-me, it was okay. I enjoyed it. That’s it.

The book talks about a girl who moves to this small town to help out her sister and gets roped into participating in a three-week-long fair set in Shakespearan time. She meets Simon and….

It’s a romance novel. You know what happens.

41473872

I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver

I had never read a book about a non-binary person it was really interesting. The story was okay. I liked it.

…. I really have nothing else to say.


NEW TV SHOWS!

New year, new shows to watch. I don’t know why but I always do this. I always start watching new tv shows in January and February and this month, I have 5 brand new (for me) shows!!! Let’s have a look!

Ted Lasso

Why? Why? Why?

Why didn’t I start this show sooner? What took me so long? I am disappointed in myself. Apple TV+’s “Ted Lasso” talk about… Ted Lasso, an extremely positive and well-mannered American football coach who becomes the football coach of a British team.

It. Is. Amazing.

Jason Sudeikis, creator, EP, and star of the show, build an incredible world and even though I dislike football with the fiery passion of a thousand burning suns, I immediately fell in love with it. It’s all about positive messages, being kind to people, and working together to accomplish a goal. On top of that, it’s extremely funny.

Couldn’t recommend it enough.

Fate: The Winx Saga

Fate: The Winx Saga da oggi su Netflix, ecco una featurette con il cast

I don’t know why I started watching this. I really thought I was going to hate it. And not just hate. Riverdale-level-hate. Barchie-hate. Turns out, there are some eye-roll inducing moments and dynamics that could have most definitely been avoided, but I didn’t hate it. That’s a win for me!

If you’re not familiar with the premises of the show, it’s about fairies who control the elements (water, fire…) and go to a magical school. It’s Italian and sometimes I watched it with my sister when we were little.

Nostalgia made me do it. Ok?

Mr Mayor (NBC)

Ted Danson Takes Office in New Poster For NBC's Mr. Mayor - E! Online

Sorry, Tina Fey and Robert Carlock but no. I watched two episodes of this NBC comedy starring Ted Danson and I hated it. I hated the bright colors, I hated the dialogues, I hated Ted’s character. The only positive aspect was the diversity of the show and… that’s it. No, thank you.

Hollywood

Hollywood, la nuova serie di Ryan Murphy dal 1° maggio su Netflix

Ryan Murphy, Ryan Murphy… I am a huge fan of Pose, I loved The People VS O.J. Simpson and The Assassination of Gianni Versace (kind of) but this was a no for me.

I was bored.

I must admit I only watched the pilot but I was sooooooo bored. I mean… it’s also my fault: I started it in spite of the mixed reviews I saw. I just wanted to see Darren Criss, okay? I like him, I think he is talented and I wanted to dive into the Golden Age of Hollywood for a couple of hours.

I just couldn’t overlook how bored I was.

Shameless

I finally did it. I started Shameless. And I have so many thoughts about it. I can’t believe it took me this long to actually start it but I am in love.

I am deeply traumatized but I am in love.

And yes, I’m a basic bitch at heart, so of course I’m obsessed with Ian, Mickey and their story. I hope you’re interested in reading more about this messed up show because I’m sooooooo not done talking about it. In the meantime, while I gather my thoughts, check out my first impressions of the show!


Last but not least, in January I did some rewatching of old favourites and one not-so-favourite show.

Rewatches

New Girl

New Girl is always my go-to-feel-good show. No matter how many times I’ve seen it, I still find it unbelievably hilarious. And if you love it just as much as I go, you can check out my reviews of all the seasons HERE!

How I Met Your Mother

I don’t know why I did this. Although I did like the show way-back-when, it has not help up. It really hasn’t. I just felt nostalgic.


Here it is! These are all the things I loved in the month of January! Please let me know your own favourites in the comments below!

xxx

Georgia

Leave a comment