Fantasy

Fantasy. Sci-fi. Supernatural.

I. Can’t. Stand. It. Anymore.

In the last couple of years, the fantasy/sci-fi genre was enormously expanded. And I just can’t stand it.

Just to name a few of the latest (and not so latest) tv shows: Arrow, The Flash, Supergirl, Riverdale, Daredevil, Shadowhunters, Luke Cage, Ironfist, Stranger Things, Westworld, Game of Thrones, Jessica Jones, Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D, Supernatural, Once upon a time, Te Vampire Diaries, The Original, The O.A., Sleepy Hollow, Gotham, The 100, Grimm, the upcoming The Defenders and of course BBC’s Doctor Who . And I didn’t even have to google anything. These are just from the top of my head!

THERE ARE TOO MANY!

And these are only the most popular! OH! 12 Monkeys! That one I like.

Of course in this list there are shows that I love and regularly watch: GOT, Jessica Jones, 12 Monkey, Westworld and Doctor Who. But that’s it. And it’s already too many.

Half of the shows I mentioned are related to each other. WHY. WHY.

I have read fantasy books and have seen a couple of movies and I tried to give a try to most of these shows. Some series are a must, something you HAVE to watch. Even if you don’t like this genre. Game of Thrones’ epicness makes the fantasy element irrelevant.

I was obsessed with “The Hunger Games” and my love for “Harry Potter” will last for all eternity. I love a GOOD fantasy story. But this has been getting out of control for a long time.

To find a series about normal life and reality is basically impossible. Mostly because I have already seen A LOT of the series that are being produced, but that’s irrelevant.

I’m tired of seeing people with capes, masks, letters of their chest, strange and mostly useless superpowers, weird zombies… OH! THE WALKING DEAD!!!!! HOW COULD I FORGET ABOUT THIS SHOW! Defenitely don’t like it.

I hope this phase will quickly pass and that we will get out of this current obsession.

Netflix, Amazon, Hulu, ABC, FOX, CW, NBC, CBS (and all the other networks), please produce series about reality, people’s normal lives and struggles that don’t involve saving the planet from aliens or villains.

To the writers and producers: please more series like “This is us“, about real life. Or a show that criticises current society and that makes us think. Really think.

But the most important people are the viewers. Because the people above make what the audience want. So, let’s move on from these genres. Please. Please.

I’m literally begging.

Georgia    🙂

 

Leave a Reply

