BookTube: An (almost) New-Found Love

Getting back into reading & Booktubers I Love

This is uncharted territory for me and I’m probably going to get something wrong.

Stupidly, I had never thought of YouTube as a place where you could talk about books and literature, but I quickly discovered how wrong I was.

If you think of YouTube as a platform where you can only watch challenges, beauty guros and guys playing video games in their bedrooms… don’t worry! I thought the same up until many months ago.

There is a whole community of people who love books and want to share their passion with others.

I started watching a few videos but quickly got bored. I hadn’t found the right people and I wasn’t actually interested.

But 6 or 7 months ago, I was checking when the lovely BeautywithEmilyFox was going to upload a new video and I discovered that she had just started a new channel all about books! I was intrigued and dived into the community.  Out of nowhere three channels popped out. They are all relatively new, but I have quickly watched a bunch of their video and I love them!!!

There are reviews, book recommendations, general tips for reading, hauls and book clubs!

For quite some time I have wanted to go back to reading. When I was little, I LOVED reading. I learnt when I was very young, even before going to school and throughout my academic years I started to read less and less.

I used to spend lots of hours at school and even more at home studying text books in the afternoon, so also reading at night (even for pleasure) was the last thing I wanted to do.

It’s been two years since I left school and now I have been feeling the urge to go back to actually enjoy reading. When teachers force you to read stuff you don’t like or you are not interested in, they make you HATE everything that has to do with literature. Especially because you will most definitely have to do a report or a review.

I’ll leave here the links to the YouTube channels I found and maybe (if you aren’t now) you will get back into it!

Booksandquills

Jean Bookishthoughts

BooksWithEmilyFox 

Mollie Reads

J. Bookish

You can also find their goodreads pages and add them as a friend! And if you have suggestions of books I should read or BookTubers I should follow, leave them in a comment!

Also, a bit of shameless promo, find me on Goodreads.com!

Georgia    🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

