Master of None

mv5bmji1mdgymtmwmf5bml5banbnxkftztgwmdu5mzaxnze-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_

I can’t even remember how I discovered this series, but it’s just magnificent. Created by Aziz Ansari and Alan Yang, the show talks about the life of a 30-year-old actor named Dev who lives in NYC.

Aziz (who created wrote and produced the series) is also the main character. The series deals with extremely important social issues, from the alternative birth control Plan B, appreciating immigrant parents, a relationship in this modern and technological age and discrimination, sexism and injustice.

It’s a comedy, but not some dumb and idiotic thing with no actual depth. I was really surprised by the quality of the show. Not because I didn’t have faith in Aziz, but it said comedy and the trailer is upbeat and funny. I hadn’t realized the social issues that were being discussed.

Season 2 is coming out tomorrow on Netflix and I plan on completely putting my life on hold and binge watching the shit out ot of this new season.

mv5bntm0ntyzmtmzmv5bml5banbnxkftztgwodyynjkznze-_v1_sy1000_sx1500_al_

I love this series so much because it’s real. I’ve been saying it a lot in past blog post (This is us mainly…), but this is what I’m looking for in a tv series.

The cast is really good, really authentic, diverse and really talented! Denise and Arnold are just two amazing characters and Lena Waithe and Eric Wareheim are hilarious. Also, Dev’s mom and dad are Aziz’s real parents! And they are soo funny!

 

gty_master_of_none_cast_hb_151116_16x9_992
Left to Right: Aziz’s parent Shoukath and Fatima Ansari, Alan Yang, Lena Waithe, Aziz Ansari, Kelvin Yu, Eric Wareheim and Noel Wells

All the episodes are amazing, but if I had to choose, episodes 4-6-7-8 are the best.

Episode 4 is called: Indians on TV, where Dev talks about the lack of roles for Indian men to play and the stereotypes he has to overcome. He inadvertently sees an email from an executive producer with racism remarks and he had to decide how to act.

Episode 6: Nashville: Dev invites Rachel, the girl he likes, to a spontaneous trip to Nashville. The episode is just adorable. It’s something different than the usual first date and it’s truly delightful.

AND NOW, MY FAVOURITE! Episode 7: Ladies and Gentleman: This one is pure gold. Rachel and Dev’s friend Denise explain to their friend the constant misogyny that is (sadly) part of our everyday life. I was really impressed by the episode. It’s rare to see a TV that deals with this horrible issue as well as “Master of None”. What I truly appreciated about it, is that they stated that men can’t understand the situation. They don’t face the same problems as women do and consequently, aren’t aware of how big the problem actually is.

Episode 8: Old People: I also loved that Aziz and Alan Yang (the two main creators of the show) took the time to dedicate an episode to the elderly. I love my Grandmother and I realized I don’t spend as much time with her as I want to. We tend to forget that they can become lonely, especially if widowed. Even though the episode is absolutely silly sometimes, it’s thought-provoking and it will definitely make you pick up the phone and call your grandparents.


I am a huge fan of Aziz… both of this stand-up work and his acting roles… and don’t get me started on his book “Modern Romance” because I LOVED IT!

I’m really excited about season 2, mainly because it was partially shot here in Italy, so I can’t wait to see how Aziz decided to portray my country.

I hope you’ll check it out and you’ll let me know your opinions.

See you!

Georgia

Leave a Reply

