Beauty March Favourites 2017

This is part two of my march favourites and this time, it’s all about makeup.

I don’t usually have products I am obsessed with or that I am completely in love with, but this month I have re-discovered some old things, found out a few new mind-blowing tricks (at least for me) and wore some really bright lipsticks.

IMG_6578

  • Essence “MATT MATT MATT” lipstick in 04 and Essence “Make Me Brow” eyebrow gel mascara

I saw this brand in OVS many months ago but I didn’t trust how cheap it was. How can they be so inexpensive and still be high quality? After that, I saw so many people on Youtube talking about some of the products and I decided to give it a go. And I love them. I saw BeautyWithEmilyFox reviewing these products and I immediately needed to buy them. And they are AMAZING. The lipstick is bright pink/red creamy matte, very comfortable on the lips, it lasts for at least 3 hours in perfect conditions. I have very very very dry lips so for me it’s actually impressive. I am currently trying to get my hands on other colours but so far I haven’t been able to. The brow gel is also very good. I have pretty thick and long brows (I am not touching them, only slightly plucking the hair underneath and in the uni-brow zone) and this product keeps them in place for the entire day. As soon as I’m out, I’m definitely repurchasing it.

  • NYX Eyeshadow Base in White

IMG_6588

I bought this primer last June and I tried for ages to make it work. But I have extremely oily eyelids and this only made it worse. But then, I saw someone on Youtube applying powder on top of the primer. THIS CHANGED MY LIFE. I know that everyone probably already knew about this but who fucking cares. I’m too excited. Now my eyeshadow lasts 10 hours instead of 6 and the white base brings out the colour of the eyeshadow. I am so thrilled by this I can’t even express it. And this powder is incredible. Absolutely adore it.

  • MUA Single Eyeshadow in Copper

IMG_6591.JPG

I bought this two years ago in London for just 1£, with no expectations or even hope that it will work. But this eyeshadow is amazing. It’s so pigmented it’s scary. There is a lot of fallout, a glitter but it’s not so overwhelming that the colour doesn’t come through. Sadly, MUA isn’t sold here in Italy so I’ll probably have to order more eyeshadows from the internet. If you live in the UK, go grab a couple of these. They are great.

(Also, PLEASE SEND THEM TO ME! The shipping costs are absurd.)

  • Garnier’s Acqua Micellare

IMG_6586

I bought this because a friend of the family recommended it to me. I was skeptical about it but it works like magic. As I said before, I have oily skin and this is very good. I have a sample of another more expensive brand that was better, but for a couple of euros, Garnier’s is great. I’m more than halfway through my first bottle and I’ll definitely repurchase it. Now I can’t live without it.


So this is it. These are my monthly favourites. I’ve actually enjoyed doing this and I was really skeptical.

Also, I had never realized how much time this took! I am not particularly happy with the photos, but I’m trying to improve.

In case you missed it, I have LITERALLY just posted a non-beauty related post about my favourites. Go check it out and let me know if you’ve enjoyed them!

🙂 🙂

Georgia

March Favourites 2017

I haven’t had the greatest month. Not at all.

Life wise, I started studying for my driving license for the 5th time. I contacted my professors at Uni for material for my exams. I cried and freaked out about it for days, but nevermind. I’ve been anxious for weeks and not sleeping very well. And felt like shit for the longest time. But it’s okay!!! I’m not extremely sad! *said in the most sarcastic voice ever*

To get my morale up, I started writing down all of the things I like this month.  But then I happily realized that the list was longer than expected. Soooo, I’ll be splitting them in two and in this post, I’ll focus on the general stuff and the next one will be all about beauty.

Enough blabbing, let’s get on with it.

  • Stationery clips and Stabilo Pen

IMG_6597

I got these clips at “Tiger” on September and until recently I had lost them! I basically took apart my bedroom, searched everywhere in the house and of course my dad had hidden them on top of the cabinet in the kitchen. COME ON. But I recently found them and I’ve been using them for literally everything. They are absolutely adorable and unbelievable cheap. I’m in love.

On the other hand,  I stole this pen from my sister only to figure out that it was actually my mom’s and that she was pretty angry she lost it. I’m still keeping it because it’s amazing. And I love how my handwriting turns out. I’m so going to re-purchase this and if there are, I’m without a doubt getting it in different colours.

  • Gilmore Girls Fanfictions

gilmore-girls-netflix-series-posters

I’m a Fanfiction nut. I have 2 apps and I even paid 0.99€ for the premium version of one. And I have no regrets. I have almost 400 stories in my favourites and I have read A LOT OF THEM multiple times. But since I got obsessed with Gilmore Girls and in particular Jess and Rory, I’ve been basically reading the entire section on FanFiction.net. Here is a selection of the ones I’ve most enjoyed: Stop Running, They Say it isn’t easy, The Runaways, The KidThe Kid Some of them are filled with clichés and predictable plots, but honestly: who fucking cares.

  • Netflix

netflixlogo2016

March marked the wonderful beginning of my relationship with Netflix. And so far, it’s been great. There are a lot of shows that are missing or aren’t complete but I’ve been loving it. I’ve binge-watched all 6 seasons of New Girl, started watching “Grace and Frankie”, skipped from one episode to another of “Friend” and I have the possibility of choosing between 7 seasons and the Year in the Life special of Gilmore Girls.

I’ve been really into stand up comedy recently and Aziz Ansari and Trevor Noah are SPECTACULAR. Highly recommend.

  • This is Us  – Last three episodes marathon

This Is Us - Season 1

I’ll be brief because I’ll start crying. I saved the last three episodes until the finale came out and then binge watched them. And then watched “The Aftershow” on Youtube. I was devastated, it has scarred me for life and I’m in love. Milo Ventimiglia and Mandy Moore were unbelievably talented in the last episode and Sterling K Brown made me had emotions I didn’t even know human were capable of feeling. Can’t wait for season 2. I’ll be crying.

  • The Bachelor Finale

58472a417ca5765f5638b6c7_o_f_v1I spoke about this at length in a recent post and the 12 weeks I’ve spent with the bachelor nation watching the show was the weirdest, most amazing ever. It’s the most ridiculous programm I’ve seen in my life and italian television is just as bad.

  • Grey’s Anatomy s13e16: “Who Is He (And What Is He to You)?”

I’ve been regularly watching Grey’s Anatomy for 3 years now and this episode finally resembled the greatness of the show’s earlier seasons. After Cristina and Derek’s departure (and previously Mark and Lexie’s) the show felt weird. But this episode was finally GOOD. Jesse Williams isn’t only a good looking person and an involved activist, he is pretty talented and he finally had the chance to shine. His presence on the screen was spectacular, captivating and graceful. I already liked him, but it was after this interview with Trevor Noah on “The Daily Show” that I started appreciating him more. The episode itself was great, full of drama, love, complicated relationship. One of the best “on the character” focus-episode they have produced.

This next thing is not television related and it’s a book.

  • The Hating Game

I don’t even know how I found out about this book, but I’m so glad I did. This is exactly the chick-flic that I LOVE! It’s not dumb like most of them, there are no sexist messages, the story itself is not something revolutionary and particularly new but I read it in 2 days. To give a brief summary, the story is about Lucy and Joshua, two co-workers who despise each other but are both up for the same promotion. But as they try to win the hating game, they might discover that they don’t dislike each other that much.

At times there are cliché moments and some typical romantic stuff, but I absolutely loved it. There is no bullshit insta-love, no unnecessary sexy times, no soul mate shit. If they don’t make this into a movie, Hollywood is losing a great opportunity for a brilliant brand new rom-com. PLEASE MAKE IT INTO A MOVIE! OR EVEN BETTER, A TV SERIE! PLEASE!


That’s it! These were my non-beauty related things I loved during the month of March. To see what I’ve been loving makeup-wise, here is the link for the blog post!

Hope you enjoyed this! Have a lovely day!

Georgia