2016 In TV Shows

I told myself I wasn’t going to do this, but I’ve been working all week, I spent more than 72 hours non-stop with my family and relatives and I need to talk about my love for television and not a bunch of lies about my university career.

So many horrible things have happened in 2016, but for television this has been one of the best years EVER. At least for me. So, this is my 2016 narrated through my favourite TV shows. (there are more, obviously. But there are the new ones or those that made an impression).

JANUARY

This was a busy months for me: I did 4 exams at Uni and my shows came back from the holiday hiatus.

And what better way to start the year with a special episode (obviously set in the victoria age. Mark Gatiss is obsessed) of Sherlock called “The Abominable bride”.

After a devastating winter finale, “Suits” came back on January and it was incredible. The tension, the drama, the unknown… I’ve been a Suits fan since season 2 or 3 (aka when I discovered it existed) and I still can’t wait for it to come back after the break. Season 5 was unforgettable. Probably the best one.

But then my friend got me into “Black Mirror” and so I watched the fist few episode… which traumatized me. Obviously I needed a pick-me-up and although the title and the trailer seemed utterly stupid, watching Mozart in the Jungle was a great decision.

FEBRUARYLast Week Tonight with John Oliver

Lots more shows came back from hiatus, but they were suddenly cast aside: I had just discovered my GOD of satiric comedy (and let’s say it: journalism): JOHN OLIVER. I absolutely adore him and his show “Last Week Tonight With John Oliver”. I have watched some of his pieces so many times that I’m almost ashamed. (Can’t wait for him to come back on February 12th 2017!!!!)

MARCH

Another dull month (wait until April ’cause then you’ll think I’m crazy)…  The 4th season “House of Cards” was released on Netflix (still have to finish it, BTW) and my favourite italian TV show came back for 3 episodes! Based on the books by Andrea Camilleri, “Il commissario Montalbano” is about a police inspector in Sicily who tries to solve particularly difficult cases and he is often faced with the mafia. Absolutely stunning!

APRIL

Things here went downhill… I wasn’t mentally well… I hit a rough patch and I felt really really down. So of course I buried myself in tv shows.

My beloved “Game of Thronescame back for season 6 (the best one, in my opinion), HBO’s “Silicon Valley” premiered its 3rd season (LOVED IT).

I started 2 new series: “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt” and “12 Monkeys”. Despite its good reviews, I didn’t really get into Kimmy Schmidt, but for the first time I enjoyed watching a supernatural/sci-fi show that wasn’t Doctor Who. I really enjoyed “12 Monkeys” and I’m definitely going to keep watching season 3 (rumour has it, it will air in June 2017).

April was also a months of old TV shows: I started watching “Will and Grace”. And I really really liked it! It was so innovative for its time, funny and totally weird.

The only downside of April: Limitless. The CBS show was cancelled. The show was kind of a sequel to Bradley Cooper’s movie, but the amazing thing was: there was actually Bradley Cooper in it! Looking absolutely stunning! It was the weirdest TV I had seen in a long time and I didn’t immediately get why it was great. Anyway, it got unfairly cancelled, so…

MAY

May was probably one of the worst ( 😉 ) months of the year. I had a terrible breakdown, I felt like shit for days and going out of the house had the same effect of someone stabbing me in the back.

BUT I discovered a new show. You’re the worst“. And to this moment I still can’t believe how much it helped me.

Every time I was feeling depressed, I would watch season 2, get into Gretchen’s shoes and allow myself to feel nothing. When I saw the character being in the same situation that I was (although she was a lot worse than me) made me feel less alone, it made me feel like it was okay for me to be like that. Definitely one of the most honest and real portrayal of a mental illness on TV.

JUNE

 

June means “holiday at the beach with other 6 people of my family” so I definitely packed my computer with TV shows.

Starting at home with “Unreal”, a show about the behind-the-scenes of a reality like “The Bachelor” or “The Bachelorette”. I though it was one of the most amazing thing ever. And I still do. I hate reality shows, but this behind-the-scenes look is fantastic. Don’t know why, but I loved it. It’s so clever. (Since as I’m writing this, it’s January 3rd, I’m so going to watch the new season of the Bachelor this year!)

I downloaded the 3rd season of “The Night Shift” just for the LOLs but I actually enjoyed it. It talked about police brutality, racism, discrimination, the war in Syria… Really politically and socially relevant. Didn’t think I would, but I enjoyed it. Definitely tuning it for season 4.

I don’t usually watch BBC Dramas, but “Doctor Foster” was definitely a must. I adore Suranne Jones! She played David Tennant’s love interest in “Single Father” in 2010 and I really really like her! She is a great actress! And in this 5-episode-series, she didn’t let me down! The story, though… ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. Loved it. I also watched BBC’s “Thirteen”. It wasn’t as good as “Doctor Foster” but I recommend it! Very dark and obscure.

I got really really into “The Office” (the US version). I didn’t think I would, given the weaker episodes in season 1, but as soon as I got to season 2… WOW. I LOVED IT. I fell in love with John Krasinski and I truly understood Steve Carell’s brilliance. What a show!

If this list wasn’t enough, I started watching for the 5th time “Breaking Bad” and had a look at two pilots: “The Last Tycoon” (Amazon) and “Bloodline” (Netflix).

Thank God Amazon picked up”The Last Tycoon” for a full series because if not, I would have been really really pissed off. (And no more Matt Bomer in the 30s would have been a crime against ME).

JULY

After everything that happened in June, I took a step back. The brilliant “Mr Robot” premiered its second season (that I finished watching last week and it’s mind-blowing) and saw the first couple of episodes and I chose to watch the comedy “Parks and Recreation” (mainly because I was missing “The Office” and “Parks and Rec” has the same producer and some of the same writers).

AUGUST

Despite studying for my German exam, I got started watching almost all new series.

The only exception “Pretty Little Liars”, my guilty pleasure, that ended its 6th season. (season 7 premieres in April 2017, ICYMI.)

If you go back here on my blog, you can see my detailed reviews and opinions on these following shows: I started watching “Stranger Things” because everyone was obsessed… Meh.

For the first year I watched and really REALLY got into “The Great British Bake Off”… Obviously I started watching it and then it got cancelled and moved to channel 4, but never mind that.

Then there was ITV’s “Victoria”… Utterly enjoyed it. Jenna Coleman did a wonderful performance.

After in the middle of all of this: FOX’s “Brooklyn Nine Nine”.

SEPTEMBER

TV show wise, probably the best months along with May.

Waiting for my regular shows (Modern Family, New Girl, Grey’s Anatomy…) to come back I found two other series, and one of them changed me. I am obviously talking about “This is us”. And FX’s “Better Things”.

I reviewed This Is Us here on my blog, but I feel like I can’t make it justice. I think the only way is for you, yes you who is reading this now, to go watch it. It will tear you apart. I didn’t even know I was capable of feeling some of the emotions that the show evoked. A MUST of 2016.

OCTOBER

friends

Shittiest months of the year. Got obsessed with “Friends”. Don’t have a single regret.

 

NOVEMBER

The day I had been waiting for more that a year finally arrived and on November 4th I was finally able to watch “The Crown”. AND WHAT A MASTERPIECE. Matt Smith is brilliant in it! I had missed him so much!

But in late November I discovered the show that destroyed me almost (but not really) as much as “This is us”: Gilmore Girls.

After the mind-blowing discovery that Jack from “This is Us” was Jess from “Gilmore Girls” (and it took me a LOOOOOOOOOOONG time to figure that out), I was hooked. Still am actually.

DECEMBER

Finally! The last months! This has been a never-ending post!

I got into two new Tv shows! “Westworld” and I managed to watch the first two episodes of “The Affair” even though it came out in November. (I’m still stuck on episode two, BTW).

A memorable thing that happened in December was the last three episodes of “This Is Us” that I hadn’t seen as they came out, ’cause frankly… I was not emotionally ready for them. I kid you not, I cried for three hours straight. NEVER in my life, I had ever cried this much. It was one of the most liberating feelings in the world. I hate it and loved it at the same time.


This year was bad: from terrorist attacks, to shootings, to celebrity’s deaths (George Micheal I’ll miss you) , to arrogant narcissistic bigot orange racists being elected as President of the United States Of America.

Television wise, this has been a great year. Full of amazing shows, talented NEW and diverse actors and fantastic writers.

I probably forgot a lot of series I glanced at in this past year, but apparently they weren’t worth remembering!

I hope you had a fantastic year and I wish all of you an even better one! Happy 2017!

Georgia   🙂 ❤

 

P.S. Definitely not going to write this in one sitting next time! Creating the “2017 in Tv shows” post right now!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

