WestWorld

I’ve heard a lot about this series on HBO. People have been talking about Westworld for ages, saying how wonderful and well-made it is.mv5bmteyodk5ntc2mjneqtjeqwpwz15bbwu4mdq5ntgwotkx-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_

So naturally (although a few months later) I decided to give it a go. I didn’t know a lot about it, so I was pretty confused about the whole thing. And frankly, I still am.

IMDb says: “A series inspired by the 1973 film of the same title written by Michael Crichton about a futuristic theme park populated by artificial beings.”

It still doesn’t make sense! As I said, it’s on HBO so I expected nudity, nudity, curse words, violence and more nudity. And it’s there, don’t worry.

It has a great cast… Evan Rachel Wood, James Marsden, Ed Harris, Anthony Hopkins and the third Hemsworth (Luke, who up until a few months ago didn’t even know existed. Sorry.)

The series is produced by J.J. Abrams. If you are a fan of sci-fi movies and tv series, you probably know him. He was involved in series like “Lost”, “Alias” and “Fringe” and of course the new “Star Wars” movie. Another familiar name, this time in the music department, is Ramin Djawadi, who also composes the soundtrack for “Game Of Thrones”. Definitely check it out, I usually listen to season 5 and 6 whenever I have to study. So dark and creepy.

mv5bm2viyzrlndetmwq5mc00ytmzlwi2ntyty2u2zdyzndvknznlxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvymjm4mte0nzq-_v1_
Anthony Hopkins (Shit, he is scary)

From what I have understood, the “WestWorld”is a theme parks masked as a real town with real people, who are actually artificial people. These people are only created to entertain the “guests” that come to the park. Naturally, the lab-created-people aren’t aware of  their origin.

And apparently the same day is repeated again and again. The only problem is that some robots (if you can call them that) are experiencing some glitches and malfunctions.

*spoiler alert for Game of Thrones*

Also, they Jon Snowed it. Characters keep coming back to life! It’s so weird!

jon-snow-lives-gae-of-thrones-seaosn-6-ftr

My first thoughts were:

  • “What am I watching?”
  • Is this a Black Mirror type of shit?
  • Why are there robot people in underground storage unit?
mv5bmjiwodm5otewmv5bml5banbnxkftztgwnzcxmjyynje-_v1_sy1000_sx1500_al_
James Marsden and Evan Rachel Wood

If you like the dystopian/futuristic/generally weird genre, this is definitely for you. Personally, I’m not a huge fan of Sci-Fi… I am very picky about it. So yeah… It’s not my cup of tea. Anyway, it’s what I like to call “high quality TV”: great cast, director, music, storyline…

If someone has seen it, give me advice! Do you think I should keep watching?

 

Georgia

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “WestWorld

Leave a Reply

