“Born a Crime” by Trevor Noah

I finished reading this book a couple of minutes ago and as soon as I turned over the past page (and I finished crying) I started typing this review.

As I wrote on my Goodreads page: ONE OF THE BEST BOOK I HAVE READ. EVER.

I’ve discovered Trevor Noah as a talk show host a couple of months ago and quickly fell in love with him. I watched a couple of this stand-up gigs on Youtube and when I discovered he was bringing out this book, I promised myself I would read it as soon as it came out.

And I’m so glad I did.

If you aren’t familiar with him, well… About a year ago, Trevor took over from Jon Stewart as host of “The Daily Show”, he is a comedian, he is from South Africa, he started doing stand-up when he was 18 and he was born a crime. trevor-noah-book-born-a-crime-stories-from-a-south-african-childhood

Trevor’s existence was illegal in South Africa: he was born in 1984 and apartheid was abolished in 1991. His mother is a black woman of Xhosa ancestry and his father is a swiss/german.

From his childhood and early adulthood, Trevor’s book teaches us about racism, apartheid and the multitude of problems of his country in an honest, genuine and heart-breaking way that is incredibly easy to follow.
When approaching this, you can’t think of him as the new host of “The Daily Show” or a celebrity, but just as a man from South Africa telling you this unbelievable story.
Trevor talks about apartheid, he explains to us reader (that like me aren’t particularly familiar with South Africa’s history) what it was actually like growing up in that time: the corruption of the police, poverty, church, faith, racism, feminism, equality and more. Trevor describes how difficult it was for him to identify in a specific group: is he black? is he white? Is he black enough? Is he white enough?

Young people should definitely read “Born a Crime”: this book could teach them a lot, not just about apartheid, but also about being a better person.

I can’t stress this enough: this book will be one of the best things you will read.
And a huge part of it, it’s because of Trevor’s mom Patricia. What an incredible woman.
Her life lessons included in the book are some of the best pieces of advice I have ever heard. She is such a strong and independent woman in a country that pushed against her as hard as it could. Her life story is amazing, inspiring and utterly heart-breaking.

I truly haven’t felt such passion for a book in a long time. Let’s just say that it made me cry. And I can count on one hand the number of times I have cried for a book.

I can’t really say this enough times: PLEASE, READ THIS BOOK.

While reading I underlined some of the best quotes in the book and I’ll write a separate post about them otherwise this one won’t ever end.

Now, go to the next bookshop and buy “Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood”. You won’t regret it.

Georgia

 

Leave a Reply

