This Is Us

This is real. This is love. This is us.

I don’t really know how I came across this Tv show, but I am extremely happy I did.

This NBC series is one of the best things on american TV this year. It’s an incredibly powerful and moving story with a plot twist at the end of every episode.

It’s about a group of people who share the same birthday: Jack and Rebecca, a married couple who is expecting triplets; Kevin, a LA actor tired of his horrible tv show; Kate a funny and sweet woman struggling with her weight and Randall, a very successful lawyer who is looking for his biological father.

2016-11-02-2

I can’t give many more details about what happens because it’s all spoilers. Literally, ALL SPOILERS.

I absolutely love the atmosphere of the series… It’s that indie/hipster vibe that I LOVE… It’s so different from the fake glamour of tv shows like “Castle”, “Pretty little liars” and “Suits”.

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE Suits: it’s one of my favourite shows and it’s one that I often recommend to people, but it’s so glossy and too perfect.

“This is us”, in spite of all the pretty people in it, is authentic… and it deals with family. Different kind of families, with issues, problems and A LOT of complications. Parenting is also an important part of the show and in one of the most recent episodes there was a huge eye-opener for me…

This Is Us - Season 1

I am not a parent myself so I don’t really know what that is like, but I felt like the show made me realize thing that I hadn’t even thought about before.

I felt connected to all the characters… I felt like they were reflecting not only a lot of my flaws, but also most of my problems. It made me think about life, about issues and most of all about family. It’s show that deals with REAL emotions, REAL feelings… Everyone can relate to it, because we all have insecurities, fears… We are not equipped to face life sometimes, we need a hug, a few words or simply someone nudging us towards the right direction.

There are so many monologues, scenes, single sentences that make the show this amazing. I can’t even find the words to describe it. It’s probably one of the best written shows I have seen in a long time. I know I say it a lot, but I’ve never seen anything like this. The way it deals with family, growing up, finding oneself… It’s just so real.

The actors are just as incredible as the writing. These writers have accomplished something great, something spectactular. And the actors interpret the words with magic.

If you have the time, take an hour and immerse yourself in the show. You won’t regret it.

Georgia  🙂

P.S. This is a panel with the cast   🙂

6 thoughts on “This Is Us

Leave a Reply

