“Yes Please” by Amy Poehler

I don’t usually read books written by celebrities: they are boring, filled with stories and anecdotes I couldn’t care less about and almost every time there is a ghost writer involved. And they are made simply to promote themselves and increment their popularity.

And nowadays everybody is writing books: actors, youtubers and that person who is walking down the street whistling.

But recently I’ve decided to give it a go. First of all I read Aziz Ansari’s book (Modern Romance) and I have been talking about it here on my blog for AGES. And I was deeply thankful it wasn’t a biography.

Yes Please

Not that I wouldn’t have enjoyed it if it were, because Aziz’s life is probably pretty interesting. Still, am I really interested in details of an actor/celebrity’s life? NO!

Amy Poehler’s book is different.

Altought there are a lot of childhood stories and personal experiences, Amy’s book has a made an impact on me. At the time she was writing it, she was going through a divorce and also finished the last season of her tv show “Parks and Recreation”.

She talked about being a nice person, her love for her job and her problems with working at SNL and raising her children. She divided her book in three sections: “Part One: say whatever you want”, “Part two: Do whatever you like” and “Part Three: Be whoever you are”.

An at least for me, it was inspirational. She also talks freely about drugs, alcohol and sex. I appreciate her honesty and although there were some parts that were more boring than others, I utterly enjoyed it.

If you are not familiar with her or her work, maybe this book won’t made sense to you, but here are a few passages from her book that I thought were inspiring and (at least for me) thought-provoking.

quote-yes-please2quote-yes-please4quote-yes-pleasequote-yes-please3quote-yes-please1

I hope you liked this post… I recommend reading this book, even if you don’t know Amy’s life or work. I found it really interesting and inspiring… GO AMY!!

Georgia  🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

