The Crown – Episode 1 Review

Ever since it was announced that Matt Smith was going to be Prince Phillip on “The Crown”, I have been waiting for this day.

mv5bnju2nza5mzgym15bml5banbnxkftztgwndawotuxmdi-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_For those of you that aren’t up to date with the TV series world, “The Crown” is a Netflix series about the reign of Queen Elizabeth II. Season 1 will be focused on her first 10 years as a Queen, her marriage to Phillip and well, I have only seen episode 1 so I don’t know what’s going to happen next.

Directed by Stephen Daldry and written by Peter Morgan, the series is the most expensive show ever produced by Netflix with a budget of 100 million pounds.

The only series which is as expensive as “The Crown” is “Game of Thrones”, with season 6 costing £10 million per episode.

There has been a lot of anticipation and well, it’s the second british tv series about a Queen in 2016! Woooo!! Although people from “The Crown” slightly dissed “Victoria” because of its inferior costs and historical accuracy, I don’t really care. I loved “Victoria” and I thought it was really good, but it’s a ITV production with a much lower budget. Unfortunately in these cases, money does matter. And it truly makes a difference.mv5bmjezmdqwndk3mv5bml5banbnxkftztgwmdayntk1ode-_v1_sy1000_cr006651000_al_

Anyway, the series is perfection.

It’s not as easy as I thought it was going to be. Not being British, there is A LOT of things I don’t know about the monarchy in the past century. At school we never spoke about the royal family in the last century, so I knew very little. Nevertheless, I’ve always been fascinated with them.

I know (and correct me if I’m wrong) that there are people who would prefer not having the Queen. I believe it’s mainly about financial and economic reasons, but I have always loved learning about them. Watching “The Crown” made me google A LOT and I have to say that even after only one episode, I feel even just a tiny little bit more competent.

But, let’s get into the show. Episode 1 opens in 1947 with King George VI coughing up blood (a sign of the illness that will lead to his death) and he future Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip are about to get married in Westminster Abbey.

First of all, Claire Foy’s interpretation of Queen Elizabeth is spectacular. The accent, the voice, the “I’m not amused” expression that imitates Queen Victoria… I wasn’t familiar with her before this, but she is a truly talented actress…On the other hand, it’s hard not to see Matt Smith as The Doctor but he plays Prince Philip with such grace and humor that it’s joyful to watch. Matt has a great range of emotions as an actor… He uses his body for humour, but has a wonderful angry expression and… I just really like him as an actor, ok? I really do.

Whenever I see Jared Harris, I will always be reminded of his portrayal of David Robert Jones in the american TV series “Fringe” (One of my favourite shows EVER)… And here as George VI, he doesn’t disappoint. His acting is great, realistic and at least for me, a bit scary.

John Lithgow as Winston Churchill is also a great choice. I felt like he got deep into character, making Churchill appear rude and mean.

Episode 1 is called “Wolferton Splash” and (like I said before) Stephen Daldry and Peter Morgan directed and wrote it splendidly. Something I noticed while reading the opening sequence, is that Hans Zimmer composed the opening music and Rupert Gregson-Williams wrote the rest of the soundtrack… And it’s pretty good..

mv5bnjy0njg2mtywm15bml5banbnxkftztgwotkxntk1ode-_v1_sy1000_cr0015031000_al_
Prince Philip and Queen Elizabeth at their wedding November 20th 1947

The only thing I struggled with is the plot, but that is completely my fault. The subtle jokes or the whispered sentences that refer to something historical were particularly hard for me. I kept pausing and googling stuff. Not that I mind, but it interrupts the flow of the story. Also, it’s a typical british show, so it’s sooooooooo slow. This is actually the only slightly downside of the show…

I highly recommend the series to EVERYONE.. The entire cast’s performance is marvelous (I’m starting to sound a bit posh…) and if you are a Matt Smith enthusiast, his butt makes an appearance… Just saying. 😉

Hope you enjoyed my review and let me know your opinion about the show! Bye!!!

Georgia 🙂

P.S. As I am finishing this, I am watching episode 3 and it really doesn’t disappoint…

 

Photographs from IMDb

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Crown – Episode 1 Review

Leave a Reply

