Brooklyn Nine-Nine

In August I had a three day break from studying: the weekend (Saturday and Sunday) and the 15th, which in Italy is a holiday called “Ferragosto”. Don’t know what it means actually. I’ll google it later.

Since I had this lovely break I though I could catch up on season 5 of Breaking Bad and season 4 of House of Cards, but… le’s face it: those are deep and heavy shows that require my full attention and I definitely wasn’t in the mood for it.

So I typed “comedy tv shows” on google and browsed through the selection they offered me. And of course I had already seen most of them ’cause I’m obsessed with television.  Obviously.

obviously-severus-snape-29765844-500-440
(read in a deep Severus Snape irritated voice)

In the end, I decided to give “Brooklyn Nine-Nine” a go. Wasn’t expecting much atually. I saw a bit on TV one day and it didn’t make an impression on me… Maybe because it was dubbed in Italian (one of the things I HATE most on the planet) or… I don’t know.

Still, I finished the entire three seasons in three days.

[…. I have problems. Please help.]

Anyway, if you aren’t familiar with the show, it talks about the lives of a squad of policemen who work at the 99th precint in Brooklyn. The main character is Jake Peralta (Andy Samberg), an immature and childish cop who is obsessed with the movie “Die Hard” but is actually a good detective.

Brooklyn Nine-Nine
From left to right: Chelsea Peretti plays Gina Linetti, Joe Lo Truglio (Charles Boyle), Joel McKinnon Miller (Scully), Andre Braugher (Cpt. Ray Holt), Andy Samberg (Jake Peralta), Terry Crews (Terry Jeffords), Melissa Fumero (Amy Santiago), Stephanie Beatriz (Rosa Diaz) and Dirk Blocker (Hitchcock).

The show was created by Daniel J. Goor and Micheal Schur and is currently airing on FOX. (Season 4 started 4-5 weeks ago)

Schur also played Dwight Schrute’s weird cousin on “The Office”, he wrote a few episodes and produced the series. He also created, produced and wrote “Parks and Recreation” and is the executive producer of the stunnungly amazing “Master of none” by Aziz Ansari.

Basically all of this was to say that the show has a background of talented and successful people, so it should be great.

And I have to admit, it surprised me. It is funny, the characters are lovable and it actually make you laugh out loud. It doesn’t happen to me very often. There is the giggle and then there is the proper laughter. And this show does both.

Brooklyn Nine Nine

If  you have watched both “The Office” and “Parks and Recreation” you may recognise a lot of characters: Oscar, Meredith, Darryl and Andy from “The Office” and Ron, Mona-Lisa Saperstein and Dennis Feinstein from “Parks and Rec” AND Coach from “New Girl”! I just love these things: shouting out their characters name and looking around for someone who is as excited as me… And then remembering that there is actually nobody… Yay.

Brooklyn Nine nine

Another aspect of the show that I have highly appreciated is Ray Holt, a black gay captain. Aside from the hilarious gags about his stoic face, I think FOX and the creators made an important statement, given recent events. Obviously, this isn’t the first time a TV show has dealt with social issues (Mitch and Cam from Modern Family, Will & Grace back in the 90s and many MANY more), and I definitely encourage this.

Television isn’t just entertainment, but (if done right) I can open people minds, making them aware of a reality that is different from what they are accostumed to.

Concluding, if you want to spend a careless half-hour, you should definitely consider watching it!

Hope you like this post! Have a great day!

Georgia   🙂

 

P.S. Ferragosto is a ancient roman holiday named after the first roman emperor Ottaviano Augusto. Now it has become a christian holiday that celebrates the Assumption of Mary in heaven. Thanks http://www.focus.it!

 

3 thoughts on “Brooklyn Nine-Nine

  1. Always resort to comedy for comfort. That’s a good choice! 😊
    I like the use of LGBT characters as normal people. That’s exactly what I do in my book because it’s something so important to me. People treated as people, not a joke, even if it’s in a comedy series.
    I hope you are feeling well. Glad you’re writing your favourite things again.❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

