US Presidential Election 2016

I wasn’t going to write about politics on this blog, but things are starting to get out of control.

With only 3 and a half months away from President Obama’s last day in the White House, the entire world is watching the US presidential election.

Thanks to talk shows like “The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon”, “Late Night with Seth Meyer”, “Jimmy Kimmel Live”, “The Late Late show with James Corden” and “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” and “The Daily Show with Trevor Noah”, I have been following the election through the “funny side”.

Since (of course) I am not an american and I don’t live there, I don’t know what life is like overseas. But I am interested in the culture, the legislations and politics and I feel invested in this. This election isn’t just about America… It’s about all of us, the entire world.

The talk show hosts have been talking non-stop about Democrats and Republicans, Caucasus and all of that (I still get confused about all of this process.) and I got really into it. I have learnt a lot, but to be honest, I would have never got this invested if it hadn’t been for these shows.

It made it incredibly easy to understand and follow this last year of meetings, conferences and speeches.

As of now, I am watching the first presidential debate and there are a lot of things that are wrong. First of all, this debate thing is completely new to me. Here in Italy we don’t have it, but I think it’s great. You get to actually know the candidates, instead of watching endless hours of boring political talk show like we do here. In America they ask them about the facts and what they would actually do.

Anyway, this election has been one of the most horrible things I have seen on television (and yes it includes Game Of Thrones’ Red Wedding). Senators biting each other heads off, insulting their running mate, undermining everything and everyone…

Having no filters, no worries of sounding racists and the absurd idea of building a wall across the border between the USA and Mexico, Donald Trump has been the centre of every tv program.

As a woman, I found myself deeply offended by his remarks on Megyn Kelly and all the other women: let alone insulting people on national television just for the hell of it, but attacking us women for not looking like unrealistic plastic dolls is unacceptable. Making fun of Ms Kelly by saying, and I quote:

“You could see there was blood coming out of her eyes. Blood coming out of her wherever.” was disgusting.

Although he tried to rectify it on Twitter by adding “nose” at the end of that sentence, his pathetic excuse didn’t count much. This is only one of the many insult he directed towards women, minority (and let’s face it) everyone else except him.

I am outraged about his statements… And I am ashamed as a human being… I know that there are horrible people in this world, but I didn’t think it was to this extend.

I am not qualified to judge his plans… oh no, wait… He doesn’t have any… Shit…

Well, I cannot judge his business. I don’t know the first thing about the economy, but personally I believe the facts are against him. I won’t talk about his bankruptcy because there is John Oliver linked below.

Also, he keeps mentioning “Law and Order”… Is he quoting the TV show? Doesn’t he know that it’s shit? Oh well… I’m obviously joking, but this “Law and Order” business is all about gun regulations and the NRA.

Why are americans so obsessed with guns? WHY? I am truly asking. I want to understand this.

It is the 21st century, people. WAKE UP. Let’s not go back to the Dark Times. It has come to deciding which one is the least worse. And it’s horrible. You shouldn’t decide your president based on which you dislike the least.

 



Here are a few pieces that I LOVE:

Last Week Tonight with John Oliver: Donald Trump (HBO)  

This is the most amazing thing I have seen on HBO after Game Of Thrones.



Last Week Tonight with John Oliver: Border Wall (HBO)

What is with this f***ing wall!? Ever heard of the Berlin Wall? Do you remember what happened almost 20 years ago, Donald? COME ON.


The Late Show with Stephen Colbert

 

Yes, I am a bit obsessed with John Oliver. No big deal. I just love him and his show… And his humor. ❤

Also, Stephen Colbert is amazing. I didn’t really knew him before this show and frankly I didn’t really like him, but he has become one of my favourite hosts. ❤

I hope we can start an intelligent and calm discussion about his topic! I am genuinely interested in hearing your opinion!

Have a nice day!

 

Georgia    🙂

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “US Presidential Election 2016

  1. Loved this! I’m not American and don’t live there like you, but it has become impossible to escape this. It will affect every single person in the world because, like it or not, the USA are a huge economy and potency.
    I had just commented to friends that Americans are in deep shit, because choosing the one who is going to cause the least damage is not right.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

