First Year At Uni

I have only written reviews so far and entering the “personal” sphere scares the shit out of me.

In a week, my Uni courses start again. I’m still confused about how I feel about it.

I am a student at Ca’ Foscari University in Venice. I’m studying “Lingua, Civiltà e scienze del Linguaggio” which is translated into: “Language, Civilisation and Science of Language”.

img_3332

Let me just start by saying that I haven’t had an easy year. I was terrified by Uni. It took me ages to sign up and even more to actually attend classes. As soon as someone mentioned “University” or “Venice” I started crying.

It’s not that I didn’t like it but I had just finished school, I had spent a month in London being an au-pair girl and I wasn’t ready. I was scared, I was alone and everybody around me seemed to have everything figured out.

Moreover, I had my huge extended family looking over my shoulder without giving an honest opinion. Just judging and making faces.

Anyway, first semester passed fairly easily. I did every exam I was supposed to do and I passed them all.

img_3276

Further problems started to surface in the second semester. I felt like I couldn’t do it. I didn’t want to leave the house, I didn’t want to go to Uni, I lied to my parents, to everyone. Every time I had to go to Uni, I’d feel like crying again. Even though the semester started in February, the first lesson I actually attended was at the end of March.

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to say it because there are loads of people who actually suffer from this condition, but I self-diagnosed myself as depressed. I didn’t feel anything, didn’t care for anything and as soon as someone mentioned Uni, I *surprise surprise* started weeping like a baby.

When at the end of May, I did two of my four exams (I don’t want to brag but I am really proud of my 30/30 in English 🙂 ), for the two summer months I felt free…

But I am looking at my future, what I want to do in 2 years when Uni is over an at least of that I am sure: I’d like to be an english teacher.

And without a bachelor (actually a master’s) degree I cannot become a teacher and teach english in high school. And I have no intention of being an elementary school teacher.

A year ago I was so indecisive about everything… My life, my choices… I still am.

Frankly, I hope this year will be better. And I don’t mean University wise.

As of today I am ok. At least I think so. Let’s see what tomorrow is going to be like.

 

Georgia    🙂

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “First Year At Uni

  1. Silly phone. Sent before I meant to…
    Your posts always bring lighthearted fun and we don’t see the struggles you go through.
    It’s a beautiful thing to open up and admit to the world you are not perfect and you have problems.
    This was a wonderful piece of writing and I can see the person behind the writing very clearly.
    Thank you for sharing your story and I hope you pull through and achieve your dreams.
    I’m your fan, now more than ever. xx

    Liked by 1 person

      1. We all have some kind of mask, cheerful or not. I hide behind my writing, my real identity a big secret, at least for now. I hope to be able to show the real me one day.
        Keep writing and don’t keep yourself down. If you ever need to ‘talk’, I’m a message away. Just

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

