68th Primetime Emmy Awards – Part 3: Supporting Performances

Here I am with part 3 on my installments dedicated to the Emmys… I am REALLY excited about this category because there are A LOT of actor I know…

Browsing through the nominees, I have already decided that I WON’T choose a winner, simply because all the actors in the category are PERFECT!!!

WHAT AM I GOING TO DO? Nevemind with the chatting, let’s get into it.


OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A DRAMA SERIES2016-09-11-7

  • PETER DINKLAGE (Game of Thrones)
  • MICHAEL KELLY (House of Cards)
  • BEN MENDELSOHN (Bloodline)
  • KIT HARINGTON (Game of Thrones)
  • JONATHAN BANKS (Better Call Saul)
  • JON VOIGHT (Ray Donovan)

This is already difficult: how could you possible pick one?

I’m not familiar with Mendelsohn or Voight, but all the others are outstanding. (See what I did there? πŸ˜‰ )

Both Kit Harington and Peter Dinklage are perfect in GOT and Michael Kelly is one of the scariest Chief of Staff/director of strategy a fictional White House has ever had. His performance was amazing!

Also, I am scared to death by Jonathan Banks’s Mike! He is the most terrifying grandfather EVER!!!

I’m totally indecisive here! I can’t do it!!!

Last year’s winner: Peter Dinklage (Game of Thrones)

WILL WIN: Peter Dinklage (Game of Thrones)

MY WINNER: Peter Dinklage (Game of Thrones)…. I LOVE HIM! He is amazing and I truly think he deserves it. Also, sorry Kit, Michael and everyone in the category. You are all amazing.


OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A DRAMA SERIES2016-09-11-10

  • LENA HEADEY (Game of Thrones)
  • EMILIA CLARKE (Game of Thrones)
  • CONSTANCE ZIMMER (unREAL)
  • MAGGIE SMITH (Downton Abbey)
  • MAURA TIERNEY (The Affair)
  • MAISIE WILLIAMS (Game of Thrones)

I won’t choose. I just won’t. NO. NO. NO. It is impossible for me to choose one of these amazing, brilliant and talented ladies.

Every single one of them deserves it. The Game of Thrones cast is entirely perfect: everybody knows it. I won’t even talk about it. πŸ™‚

Constance Zimmer on “unREAL” is one of the most cold-hearted characters I have recently seen (except Queen Cersei obviously) . She is basically portraying the inner me whilst watching the show.

Maura Tierney on “The Affair” is spectacular. The show is incredible and she is fabulous on it! I love her!!!

Maggie Smith is basically THE QUEEN of Downton and totally amazing… Her performance is superb.

Last Year’s Winner: Uzo Aduba (Orange is the New Black)

WILL WIN: no idea. They should ALL WIN.

MY WINNER: All of them. With no doubt. Please Emmys, let them all win.


OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES2016-09-11-6

  • ANDRE BRAUGHER (Brooklyn Nine-Nine)
  • KEEGAN-MICHAEL KEY (Key and Peele)
  • TY BURELL (Modern Family)
  • LOUIE ANDERSON (Baskets)
  • TONY HALE (Veep)
  • MATT WALSH (Veep)
  • TITUS BURGESS (Unbreakable Kimmy Schimdt)

Since I noticed that “Veep” was nominated a lot, I started watching it. As of now, I am currently watching episode 2 season 2. So now I actually know what I’m talking about.

I know everybody but Louie Anderson… Sorry…

It is very difficult for me to choose a winner here… Andre Braugher is extremely funny and Tony Hale, Matt Walsh are incredibly on “Veep”!

Out of loyalty, I would like Ty Burell to win. Phil is the best Dad ever.

Last Year’s Winner: Tony Hale (Veep)

WILL WIN: Andre Braugher (Brooklyn Nine-Nine)

MY WINNER: Ty Burell (Modern Family)


OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A COMEDY SERIES

  • ANNA CHLUMSKY (Veep)
  • NIECY NASH (Getting on)
  • ALLISON JANNEY (Mom)
  • GABY HOFFMANN (Transparent)
  • KATE MCKINNON (Saturday Night Live!)
  • JUDITH LIGHT (Transparent)

I am only familiar with Anna Chlumsky so I won’t pick the winner in this category. Let me know who YOU would pick!

Last Year’s Winner: Allison Janney (Mom)

WILL WIN: no idea

MY WINNER: no idea


OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A LIMITED SERIES OR MOVIE2016-09-11-8

  • STERLING K. BROWN (American Crime Story)
  • HUGH LAURIE (The Night Manager)
  • JOHN TRAVOLTA (American Crime Story)
  • DAVID SCHWIMMER (American Crime Story)
  • JESSE PLEMONS (Fargo)
  • BOKEEM WOODBINE (Fargo)

I have only seen the Night Manager so I’m not entirely qualified to choose in this category…

Who would you pick as the winner?

Last year’s Winner: Bill Murray (Olive Kitteridge)

WILL WIN: no idea! Good luck to everyone!

MY WINNER: Hugh Laurie (?)


OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN LIMITED SERIES OR MOVIE2016-09-11-11

  • KATHY BATES (American Horror Story)
  • SARAH PAULSON (American Horror Story)
  • JEAN SMART (Fargo)
  • OLIVIA COLMAN (The Night Manager)
  • REGINA KING (American Crime)
  • MELISSA LEO (All the way)

I have heard wonderful things about all of these ladies… My personal favourite: Olivia Colman. In “The Night Manager” and “Broadchurch” she was phenomenal.

Last Year’s Winner: Regina King (American Crime)

WILL WIN: No idea

MY WINNER: Olivia Colman (The Night Manager)


 

I hope Ty Burell and Olivia Colman win an Emmy… They are amazing and I ADORE them!

Also, in the “Supporting Actress in a drama” I KNOW that I will be happy anyway because I love all of them!!! BUT I will be so disappointed for the other 5 nominees! WHY CAN’T THEY ALL WIN?!?!

Anyway, the next post will be the last! Writing & directing!

Hope you liked it! I’d love to hear your opinions!

 

GeorgiaΒ Β Β  πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “68th Primetime Emmy Awards – Part 3: Supporting Performances

  1. I think the rules state there can only be one winner. My random mind just thought of highlander…
    I love how you are not afraid to support your favourites. πŸ˜„πŸ˜„
    And you made me realise how little I watch 😱 There are not enough hours in a day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

