68th Primetime Emmy Awards – Part 2: Acting

Here I am with part two of exploring this year’s Emmys nominations!

In case you missed part 1, you can read it here. Don’t forget that about part 3 and 4, Suppporting Performances and Writing & Directing! They will definitely be posted before the cerimony on Semptember 14th.

DISCLAIMER: These opinions are based on the shows that I have seen. If I haven’t seen one, it will be hard for me to judge it and I will pick from the ones that I have actually watched.


OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTOR IN A DRAMA SERIES2016-09-11

  • KEVIN SPACEY (House of Cards)
  • LIEV SCHREIBER (Ray Donovan)
  • BOB ODERNKIRK (Better Call Saul)
  • RAMI MALEK (Mr. Robot)
  • KYLE CHANDLER (Bloodline)
  • MATTHEW RHYS (The Americans)

Well… These are all amazing actors… Kevin Spacey is unbelievably talented, as well as Bob Odernkirk and Matthew Rhys…

I haven’t see Liev Schreiber’s performance so I can’t judge it or espress my opinion…

Also, I have only seen the first 10 minutes of Bloodline… I need to catch up!

I love Rami Malek, he’s exceptionally talented and this is first nomination… And I have just remembered that Kevin Spacey has never won an Emmy for his performance! WHAT? NO!

I’m really indecidive about this! In my opinion, they both deserve it…

Last year’s winner: Jon Hamm (Man Men)

WILL WIN: Kevin Spacey (House of Cards)

MY WINNER: Rami Malek (Mr. Robot)… Sorry, Rami. I really hope you’ll win though!


OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTRESS IN A DRAMA SERIES2016-09-11-3

  • CLAIRE DANES (Homeland)
  • ROBIN WRIGHT (House of Cards)
  • VIOLA DAVIS (How to get away with murder)
  • TATIANA MASLANY (Orphan Black)
  • TARAJI P. HENSON (Empire)
  • KERI RUSSEL (The Americans)

As soon as I saw she was nominated I shouted: CLAIRE DANES HAS TO WIN!

Homeland is one of my favourite shows and Claire’s performance is flawless. In the first episodes of season 5 she was perfect. Playing Carrie off her meds makes Claire’s talent come through. SHE IS AMAZING. Even though this season of Homeland wasn’t as good as season 4 (and season 1 and 2, I don’t want to talk about season 3..), I think she deserves it.

BUT then I saw Robin Wright’s name. In House of Cards she is perfect. Her performance is incredible…

Frankly, I haven’t seen the other lady’s performances but I know people have been raving about Viola Davis’ acting in HTGAWM… Also, Keri Russel is amazing.

I still have to check out Orphan Black and Empire… Sorry..

Last year’s winner: Viola Davis (How to get away with murder)

WILL WIN: Robin Wright (House of Cards)

MY WINNER: Claire Danes (Homeland)


OUTSTADING LEAD ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES2016-09-11-1

  • WILLIAM H. MACY (Shameless)
  • WILL FORTE (The Last Man of Earth)
  • ANTHONY ANDERSON (Black-ish)
  • AZIZ ANSARI (Master of None)
  • JEFFREY TAMBOR (Transparent)
  • THOMAS MIDDLEDITCH (Silicon Valley)

Sadly I have only seen Master of None and Silicon Valley… Altough these are two different shows, with different themes…

In my opinion, Aziz deserves it. Mainly because I loved Master of None with all my heart… Thomas Middleditch is fenomenal in Silicon Valley, he plays Richard with a realistic dorky-ness that I adorable…

Last year’s winner: Jeffrey Tambor (Shameless)

WILL WIN: Jeffrey Tambor (Shameless)… Probably because he won last year and the show is more famous.

MY WINNER: Aziz Ansari (Master of None)… GO AZIZ!!!!


OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTRESS IN A COMEDY SERIES2016-09-11-4

  • JULIA LOUIS-DREYFUS (Veep)
  • TRACEE ELLIS ROSS (Black-ish)
  • LILY TOMLIN (Grace and Frankie)
  • ELLIE KEMPER (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt)
  • AMY SCHUMER (Inside Amy Schumer)
  • LAURIE MATCALF (Getting on)

I was a little bit upset that nobody from Modern Family was nominated. Either Sofia Vergara or Julie Bowen! Come on! They are soo funny!

Anyway… it is difficult for me to choose… I am not “in love” with the actress in this category… I liked Ellie Kemper on the Office and I have seen Kimmy Schmidt, but… I don’t know!

Also, I don’t find Amy Schumer particurarly funny… Sorry…

And I have been watching “Veep” to have an idea of what the show is like and… I haven’t figured out if I like it yet.

Last year’s winner: Julia Louis-Dreyfus (Veep)

WILL WIN: Julia Louis-Dreyfus (Veep)

MY WINNER: Ellie Kemper (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt)


OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTOR IN A LIMITED SERIES OR A MOVIE2016-09-11-2

  • CUBA GOODING JR. (People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story)
  • COURTNEY B. VANCE (People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story)
  • TOM HIDDLESTON (The Night Manager)
  • BRYAN CRANSTON (All The Way)
  • IDRIS ELBA (Luther)
  • BENEDICT CUMBERBATCH (Sherlock: The Abominable Bride)

Well… Bryan Cranson is amazing. At everything he does. I haven’t seen “People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”, so…

Tom Hiddleston is out. His performance was good, his relationship with Taylor Swift damaging to his carreer.

Sorry Benedict, but… I don’t think his performance was Emmy worthy. He is a truly talented and amazing actor… Maybe it’s because I didn’t really like The Abonimable Bride.

Last Year’s Winner: Richard Jenkins (Olive Kitteridge)

WILL WIN: no idea… really not a clue

MY WINNER: Bryan Cranson (All the way)


OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTRESS IN A LIMITE SERIES OR A MOVIE2016-09-11-5

  • SARAH PAULSON (American Horror Story)
  • FELICITY HOFFMAN (American Crime)
  • KERRY WASHINGTON (Confirmation)
  • AUDRA MCDONALD (Lady day a Emerson’s bar & Grill)
  • KIRSTEN DUNST (Fargo)
  • LILI TAYLOR (American Crime)

I haven’t seen either of this shows. Sorry. I have heard a few things on Confirmation and obviously Fargo (which is on my watchlist)…

So I will be giving opinions based on the actresses that I know…

Last Year’s Winner: Frances McDormand (Olive Kitteridge)

WILL WIN: no idea

MY WINNER: Kerry Washington or Kristen Dunst… (?) I don’t know!



I wasn’t super prepared with this category… I have seen a lot, but there are loads of stuff that I haven’t watched… It’s my hobby, not my job ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, tell me your predictions and who you would like to win!

 

Georgiaย  ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

5 thoughts on “68th Primetime Emmy Awards – Part 2: Acting

      1. You watch a lot more than I do, for sure. I haven’t see most shows listed there, so I thought I could send an opinion on the only show I have seen that you haven’t! ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

