68th Primetime Emmy Awards – PART 1: Programs

I won’t hide it: I’m really excited about the Emmys. They are my favourite award and I am very opinionated about them. Especially this year.

For those of you that aren’t familiar with them and (quoting directly from Wikipedia) “an Emmy Award  recognizes excellence in the television industry, and corresponds to the Academy Award (for film), the Tony Award (for theatre), and the Grammy Award (for music).

There are a lot of main categories (Programs, Acting, Supporting Performances and Writing) which I will go through each of them one by one in 4 different posts. And yes, they will be colour coded because this is how I roll!! *awkward gangsta pose*

Also, I will give my prediction of who will actually win and who I would like to win.

A few fun facts (at least to me they are) about this year’s Emmys.

  1. The network that have received the most nomination is HBO.
  2. The networks that have received the least nominations are Bravo, Cinemax, Crakle, History and TBS.
  3. The program that received the most nominations is “The People v. O. J. Simpson: American Crime Story”.
  4. The Emmys will be broadcast in the USA by ABC.
  5. Late night host Jimmy Kimmel will host the Emmys at the Microsoft Theater in Downtown Los Angeles.
  6. The nominees were announced on July 14, 2016 on the Emmy website.
  7. Last year the Emmys were hosted by former-SNL star and lead actor in FOX’s comedy Brooklyn Nine Nine Andy Samberg. He did a wonderful opening act that you can find HERE.

So, let’s get into it!

OUTSTANDING DRAMA SERIESEmmys 2016 DRAMA

  • THE AMERICANS (FX)
  • BETTER CALL SAUL (AMC)
  • DOWNTON ABBEY (PSB)
  • GAME OF THRONES (HBO)
  • HOMELAND (Showtime)
  • HOUSE OF CARDS (Netflix)
  • MR ROBOT (USA Network)

I’m so conflicted about this category because I have almost seen them all! I am a bit behind on The Americans (season 3), Mr. Robot and I haven’t seen Better Call Saul.

In my opinion, they are all worthy of the award. Game of Thrones has had the most epic and magnificent season so far and it’s currently the most popular show, Homeland was painfully realistic, Downton Abbey was perfection as usual and it will also be the last year the ITV’s drama will be eligible.

Although Homeland is one of my favourite series EVER, this season wasn’t a good as the last one…

Mr Robot is innovative, real and different from all the others nominee.

This is one of the most difficult categories for me to judge! They are all amazing, not only well written but also beautifully filmed. There are important themes, social issues and basically just QUALITY.

Last years winners was Game Of Thrones, so…

WILL WIN: Game Of Thrones

MY WINNER: I CAN’T CHOOSE!!! (But I’d probably be happy with either Game Of Thrones, Downton Abbey, Homeland or Mr. Robot… So basically everyone…)


OUTSTANDING COMEDY SERIES2016-09-07-3

  • BLACK-ISH (ABC)
  • MASTER OF NONE (Netflix)
  • MODERN FAMILY (ABC)
  • SILICON VALLEY (HBO)
  • TRANSPARENT (Amazon)
  • UNBREAKABLE KIMMY SCHMIDT (Netflix)
  • VEEP (HBO)

I have seen 4 out of 7 on these shows: Modern Family, Master of None, Silicon Valley and Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt.

I haven’t seen “Veep”, but it’s in my watch list and  I have heard great things about it.

Speaking about the ones I know, “Master of None” is one of the best things I have seen this year. Aziz Ansari’s 20 minutes comedy is everything you want it to be: funny, ridiculous and incredibly deep. He talks about gender discrimination, respecting the elderly and an actor of indian descend and racism.

Both Modern Family and Silicon Valley are great shows but I think Master of None had something more. Don’t get me wrong, Modern Family is in my TOP 10! I have seen the episodes a thousand times, but I believe Aziz’s show deserves the Emmy.

And Modern Family has won 5 Emmys, but last year was defeated by “Veep” and I wasn’t very happy about it.

Kimmy Schmidt was ok. When I came out, people raved about it. I liked it, but I didn’t get super into it. I have stopped watching after the first few episodes of season 2 and then I watched the one with Joshua Jackson talking about Dawson’s Creek (#TeamPacey).

Last years winner:

WILL WIN: “Veep”

MY WINNER: Master Of None (Sorry Modern Family… I still love you)


OUTSTANDING VARIETY TALK SERIES2016-09-07-6

  • COMEDIANS IN CARS GETTING COFFEE (Crackle)
  • JIMMY KIMMEL LIVE! (ABC)
  • LAST WEEK TONIGHT WITH JOHN OLIVER (HBO)
  • THE LATE LATE SHOW WITH JAMES CORDEN (CBS)
  • REAL TIME WITH BILL MAHER (HBO)
  • THE TONIGHT SHOW STARRING JIMMY FALLON (NBC)

I am a huge fan of Kimmel, Oliver, Corden and Fallon and I have seen a few episodes of Comedians in Cars… So sorry Bill Maher but I haven’t seen your show.

James Corden and his Carpool Karaoke have dominated the internet and it has become a vial phenomenon and he is just adorable: never afraid of making a joke, kind and confident in his body and his masculinity. YES, I love him. He has good chances, in my opinion.

But let’s not forget about the two Jimmys… I enjoy their shows… They interview actors and tv personalities and it is good. Also, Fallon has recently celebrated his 500th episode…

Personally I would have also included in the category Stephen Colbert. I used to hate him at first, but with his clever comedy and fearlessness, he has become the talk show host I look for whenever I want to learn about american politics.

BUT, my personal hero and GOD is without any doubt Mr John Oliver. I am deeply in love with his show. I think everybody should watch it and learn from it as much as they can. He makes a different (see “The John Oliver effect”) and therefore…

Last Years Winner: “The Daily Show”

WILL WIN: “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver”

MY WINNER: “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” (Sorry James Corden.. If there were two Emmys, you would have won it…)



These were the ones I knew better and I have true opinions about them. In the next categories I will just pick the winner based on what I have seen. If you want to know more, here is a link to indiewire.com where you can read their opinion.

OUTSTANDING VARIETY SKETCH SERIES2016-09-07-8

  • DOCUMENTARY NOW! (IFC)
  • DRUNK HISTORY (Comedy Central)
  • INSIDE AMY SCHUMER (Comedy Central)
  • KEY & PEEL (Comedy Central)
  • PORTLANDIA (IFC)
  • SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE (NBC

Last year’s winner: “Inside Amy Schumer”

I have literally only saw the first episode of Amy Schumer’s show and I didn’t like it very much…

WILL WIN: Inside Amy Schumer

MY WINNER: I really don’t care about this category.


OUTSTANDING LIMITED SERIES2016-09-07-4

  • AMERICAN CRIME (ABC)
  • FARGO (FX)
  • THE NIGHT MANAGER (AMC)
  • THE PEOPLE V. O.J. SIMPSON: AMERICAN CRIME STORY (FX)
  • ROOTS (History)

Last year’s winner: Olive Kitteridge (Don’t have a clue of what it is)

I have only seen “The Night Manager” (#Hiddlesbum), but I have heard all about O.J. Simpson’s popularity, so…

WILL WIN: The People V. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story

MY WINNER: The Night Manager


OUTSTANDING TELEVISION MOVIE2016-09-07-5

  • ALL THE WAY (HBO)
  • CONFIRMATION (HBO)
  • LUTHER (BBC America)
  • SHERLOCK: THE ABOMINABLE BRIDE (PBS)
  • A VERY MURRAY CHRISTMAS (Netflix)

 

 

I have heard Kerry Washington talking about “Confirmation”and it sounded great, but when you check IMDb it has only a 6.9/10.. I’m not really sure…

I have seen the Sherlock Special and loved it so…

Last Year’s Winner: “Bessie”   (No clue)

WILL WIN: no idea

MY WINNER: Sherlock: the Abominable Bride.


And the last category..

OUTSTANDING REALITY-COMPETITION PROGRAM2016-09-07-7

  • THE AMAZING RACE (CBS)
  • AMERICAN NINJA WARRIORS (NBC)
  • DANCING WITH THE STARS (ABC)
  • PROJECT RUNAWAY (Lifetime)
  • TOP CHEF (Bravo)
  • THE VOICE (NBC)

 

I love the italian version of “Dancing With The Stars”… Never seen the other ones.

WILL WIN: no idea

MY WINNER: Dancing With The Stars


 

So, almost 1300 words later I have finished the first category. I am already too invested in this.

And definitely too obsessed with TV.

ANYWAY :), hope you liked it… Can’t wait for the 14th!!

Hope you like this and you didn’t get bored halfway through. 🙂

See you next for the “Acting” category.

 

Georgia    🙂

 

Photos from the Emmy Award website and IMDb.

One thought on “68th Primetime Emmy Awards – PART 1: Programs

Leave a Reply

