Stranger Things season 1 episode 1 review

If literally everybody hadn’t talked about the series, I would have never watched in a million years.

Not because I thought it wasn’t good or anything, but horror series aren’t AT ALL for me. I have tried to watch “American Horror Story” twice and I really can’t. Believe me, I tried.  I really did. 😦

If somehow you are not familiar with this show, you are currently leaving under a rock, 184676 thousands feet under the sea.

“Stranger Things” is a Netflix original series of 8 episodes and IMDb‘s synopsis says: “When a young boy disappears, his mother, a police chief, and his friends must confront terrifying forces in order to get him back. ”

It premiered on Netflix on July 15th and since then EVERYBODY has been talking about it.

It is set in a fictional small city called Hawkins on the state of Indiana in the 80s, specifically 1983 and it looks amazing! I LOVE THE 80s!!! The music, the horrid fashion style… 😉

2016-08-10 (5)

 

Case in point…

Look at those glasses!!!!

 

I hate horror movies so *of course* I thought the BEST moment to watch the show was when I was home alone. And at 11 at night… I know, I’m so smart. *uggh*

From the first minute of the episode (which is called “Chapter one: the vanishing of Will Byers”) and I was already scared to death: the flickering lights, the scared and sweaty scientist and the creepy lift…

2016-08-10 (1)

There a lot of children involved in the show and they are AMAZING! They are so much more talented than many MANY adults actor!

2016-08-11
Holly (played by Anniston & Tinsley Price)

And Mike’s little sister Holly was just soooo cute!!! I love her so much!!!!

Just look at her!!!

 

As you have probably guessed from the title of the episode, Will disappears. The scenes before he literally vanishes in thin air created a dark and terrifying atmosphere. One minute he is holding a loaded shotgun (I found it weird that a child could just get his hands around a gun, but hey, it is set in America… ) and in the next scene he was gone. The only thing that was left: a dim lightbulb hanging from the ceiling.

2016-08-10 (3)

SUPER CREEPY!

But as soon as Mike goes missing, a girl in a medical gown turns up near a local diner. She doesn’t speak but seems to understand english and she reminded me so much of the little Observer boy on “Fringe”! (LOVE THAT SHOW!!)

Anyway… the owner of the diner calls social services but… he gets shot in the head by some kind of secret force team of weirdos that are looking for the girl.

Yeah… I don’t even know…

Although he show has that typical realistic unpolished vibe that characterizes shows like True Detective or Breaking Bad, it still has the glam of Mike’s mom’s perfect hair and make-up. I think it’s pretty realistic, but since I haven’t experienced the real 80s I can’t really say anything.

Personally I like it very much. I know that there are some supernatural elements and I am looking toward in seeing how they are going to insert them in the story line.

Something else that surprised me (and I am pretty sure I am going to regret saying this after watching the rest of the episodes), is that it isn’t as horror as I thought it was going to be. I expected more of a “American Horror Story” super freak show. (See what I did there? 🙂 )

Concluding, I like it. I like the story even though it’s a bit of a stereotype (child goes missing in small city where strange things happen? Yeah…) and something massively used in movies and tv shows. It’s captivating, good actors, good music. Definitely something that will make you sit of the edge of your couch, biting your nails in anticipation.

I’m off now. Gonna watch episode 2!

If you liked the review, like the post and write me a comment!

Keep on Netflixing!

Georgia

 

3 thoughts on “Stranger Things season 1 episode 1 review

  1. I’ve been under a rock! I subscribe to Superfruit on You Tube and they did a parody called Stranger Fruit. I didn’t get it until now! 😂😂😂😂 Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

